Open - Limited Services / Capacity
The Parque México is the major city park in the Condesa neighborhood. It was laid out, along with most of the neighborhood, by the architect, José Luis Cuevas in 1925. He’d already designed the nearby Parque España in 1921. This park opened in 1927. Once officially called the Parque General San Martín, for the Argentine liberator, José de San Martín, the Parque México name is for the Avenida México.
The park’s most famous attribute is the Foro Lindbergh. The enormous art deco plaza boasts an amphitheater fronted by a giant Art Deco sculpture and fountain depicting a woman carrying two water vessels. The famous Fuente de los Cántaros, (Fountain of the Pitchers) is the work of José María Fernández Urbina. He was perhaps most famous for having restored the damaged Angel of Independence after the 1958 earthquake. His work appears all over the country, including the Bartolomé de las Casas Fountain on the grounds of the Metropolitan Cathedral.
The enormous amphitheater here was designed by the architect Leonardo Noriega Stávoli. The Charles Lindbergh Forum is so-named because the aviator once (somehow) landed an airplane here. With five monumental pillars covered with canopies and two pergolas, it’s a unique outdoor environmental work.
At about nine acres, the Parque México is one of the most frequently visited parks in the City. 2008 renovations included a treatment plant and irrigation system. For international visitors staying in La Condesa and the surrounding neighborhoods, the park is a mandatory visit. Whether you’re crossing to get to the other side or looking for something and somewhere fun and relaxing, the park is a big part of every day.