The Nahuatl name, Tetepilco, can be translates as “stone carved in the nature of a woman.” Famous today for colonial architecture, the island is known to have been inhabited by people related to those of Culhuacan. The town appears in many ancient and colonial-era codices of Mexico and maps of Mexico City. It’s among the string of islands off the northern peninsula of Izatapalapa and it’s plainly visible on the 1521 map. The others, Apatlaco, Nextipac, Aculco, and Atlazolpa are all Pueblos Originarios today.
The San Andrés Tetepilco temple was begun in 1566 by the Franciscans, and, unusually, was later completed by Augustinians. But the neighborhood is perhaps best known today for hosting the Electric Transport Museum. This is because it’s also home to the City center for the trolebús system. Not far from Metro Portales, it’s a vibrant area and a very good neighborhood for strolling.