< Go Back

Azcapotzalco Original Settlements

There are 25 Azcapotzalco Original Settlements. They're the oldest and longest continually inhabited communities in this part of the City.

Historically, the Azcapotzalco area was much more densely populated than many other parts of the Valley of Mexico. And because of their relatively large population, the Tepaneca people were able to resist Mexica domination until the formation of the Triple Alliance in 1427.

The original settlements today reflect the 27 original neighborhoods that the Dominicans encountered upon beginning to evangelize the area in the mid-16th century. All of them were dependent on the city center, today called the Historic Center of Azcapotzalco.

They're therefore referred to as Barrios Originarios, rather than Pueblos Originarios. The Alcaldía Azcapotzalco is a vital and important part of any understanding of Mexico City. The 25 original settlements of Azcapotzalco make fascinating places to visit. And each will still give you some insight into the ancient city across the lake.

16 - 26 of 26