< Go Back

Tláhuac Original Settlements

Tláhuac became a delegation of Mexico City only in 1929. In that year, a  presidential decree listed seven original settlements that constituted the territory.

The delegation, is today an alcaldía, and later added a few more neighborhoods and sections. These seven original towns constitute the oldest and likely the most vibrant parts of Tláhuac.

The seven Tláhuac original settlements are said to have begun in 1222. A group of non-Nahua people settled in a town that later became Cuitláhuac, today's San Pedro Tláhuac. In the listings below, you'll see that many of the towns have histories going back even further, to prehistorical times.

In 1446, the emperor Moctezuma Ilhuicamina of Tenochtitlan, began construction of the Calzada de Tláhuac connecting Tulyehualco (in today's Xochimilco) to Tlaltenco. It divided Lake Chalco from the Xochimilco Lake. This was a defining moment for the peoples on either side of the water dividing the two lakes.

Visits to any and all of these towns are richly rewarded with new perspectives, deeper historical understandings, and always, with fresh and nutritious food.

1 - 8 of 8